Minutes of the ST MARY THE VIRGIN, SILCHESTER ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING Held on Sunday 21st April 2024

The meeting opened at 11.45 a.m., immediately following the Vestry Meeting.

Chairman: Revd Steve McKay
Clerk: Mr Colin Hunt

Present: Revd K West; Revd C Knight; Mrs S Speight; Mrs V Picton; Mr R Eldridge; Mrs S Hunt; Mrs H Williams; Mr R Fletcher; Mrs S Fletcher; Mr K Filkin; Mrs J Filkin; Ms H Evans; Mrs E Paddick Wilsdon; Revd C Pynn; Mr J Pynn; Mrs C Osborne; Mr G Duckett; Mrs G Duckett.

Apologies were received from: Mrs N Jones, Mr M Jones, Mrs J Pearson, Mrs E Baker, Mrs J Hughes.

The Chairman welcomed those attending the meeting.

For the year just past, amongst other points made by the Rector:

- prayers had been answered by the provision for the benefice of two further ordained ministers (Revd Karen West and Revd Chris Knight), plus an Administrative Assistant (in the person of Virge Routledge);
- St Mary the Virgin is loved and supported by Silchester villagers, one piece of evidence being the size of the social media following for each of the churches in the benefice:
- The efforts being made to increase the involvement of children.

For the coming year:

- He would like Generosity, Hospitality and Love to be keywords for all we set out to do. Our ambitions should always extend beyond what seems feasible, placing reliance on the support of the Holy Spirit;
- We should focus on giving, not just to sustain purely parochial matters but to enable mission outreach. Expenditure should include much more than building works.
 Savings are possible, for example by consolidation of maintenance contracts, e.g. for electrical works.
- He would like every single PCC member to have an agreed area of involvement/responsibility, something specific and going beyond simple attendance at meetings.
- He would like us constantly to be asking: How do we grow, both as individuals and as a parish?

1 Electoral Roll

Mrs Williams reported that the electoral roll for 2023 contained 92 names, 51 of these for people residing within Silchester Parish.

2 Minutes of the previous Annual Meeting

There were no comments or matters arising from the minutes of the APCM held on 23rd April 2023. The minutes were approved by those attending the meeting, and a copy was signed by Revd Steve McKay.

3 Presentation of the Annual Report

Electronic copies had been circulated to everyone reached by the parish email list, with additional access via a link to the website for St Mary the Virgin for all who might be interested. Hard copies were available in church on the day of the meeting. It was assumed that those attending the meeting had been able to read a copy of the report.

Mr Hunt, the Parish Safeguarding and DBS Administrator, repeated the fact recorded in the Annual Report, that there were no safeguarding concerns during the year.

There were no questions on matters featuring in the Report.

4 Election of Officers

Deanery Synod representatives: The current triennium began in 2023, when Mrs S Speight and Mr C Hunt were elected as the parish representatives. The next election for this role, unless either of the current representatives were to resign, will be in 2026.

PCC Membership: Membership in 2023/2024 consisted of:

The Rector, Revd S McKay (ex-officio), Chairman

Associate Priest for Silchester, Revd K West (ex-officio member)

The Benefice Curate: Revd Knight (ex-officio after taking up office in July 2023)

Churchwardens: Mrs J Hughes and Mr R Eldridge (ex-officio members)

Deanery Synod Representatives: Mrs Speight and Mr Hunt (ex-officio members)

Elected PCC Members: Mrs J Pearson, Ms H Evans (both elected in April 2021); Mrs J

Filkin, Mrs Hughes, Mrs Williams and Mr Fletcher (all elected in April 2022); Mrs

Paddick Wilsdon, Mrs Fletcher and Mrs Picton (all elected in April 2023).

This gave a total of 15 (6 being ex-officio, 9 being elected or co-opted), which equals the allowed total. However, those elected in 2021 reached the ends of their terms of office with the arrival of this Annual Meeting. In addition, Mrs E Paddick Wilsdon has resigned, resulting in the need to elect (or re-elect) 3 new PCC members.

The Secretary had received valid nomination forms for Mrs J Pearson (proposed by Mr R Eldridge, seconded by Mrs H Williams), Mr R Eldridge (proposed by Mrs J Pearson, seconded by Mrs S Fletcher), and Miss H Evans (proposed by Mr C Hunt, seconded by Mr R Eldridge).

Since the number of candidates was equal to the number of vacancies, no election was needed. However, by a show of hands, those present at the meeting gave unanimous approval to the new PCC, which now looks like:

Membership in 2023/2024 consists of:

The Rector, Revd S McKay (ex-officio)

Revd Knight (ex-officio)

Revd K West, Assistant Priest for Silchester (ex-officio)

Churchwarden: Mrs J Hughes (ex-officio)

Deanery Synod Representatives: Mrs Speight and Mr Hunt (ex-officio, both until

2026)

Elected PCC Members: Mrs Williams, Mrs Filkin and Mr Fletcher (all elected April 2022); Mrs Fletcher and Mrs Picton (elected April 2023); Mrs Pearson, Ms Evans and Mr Eldridge (elected April 2024)

This brings the strength up to a total of 14 (6 being ex-officio, 8 being elected).

5 Election of Sidesmen/women: The following were proposed for the coming year:

Mrs E Baker; Mrs H Williams; Mrs K Hodge; Mrs A Withers; Mr & Mrs K Filkin; Mr & Mrs D Morgan; Mr & Mrs M Cole; Mr & Mrs C Hunt; Mrs C Osborne; Mr J Barnett; Mrs S Speight; Ms H Evans; Mrs V Picton; Mr R Eldridge.

Those present at the meeting voted unanimously to appoint all of these.

6 Appointment of Independent Examiner

Mr R Eldridge, Treasurer, proposed the re-appointment of Mr Scott Broadhead for the coming year. This proposal was accepted unanimously.

7 Points from the Floor

Revd C Pynn asked that St Luke's in Pamber Heath be remembered. The church is in need of roof repair.

Mrs S Hunt, mentioned her perception that the benefice is becoming more united, the boundaries between parishes and congregations more blurred, and that this is very welcome.

It was noted that the Terrier and Inventory for 2023/2024 were up to date and available for inspection.

The meeting closed at 12:05 p.m. with a prayer of thanks.